Given the strict laws of  Kansas city, it has a detailed distribution for insurance coverage. The state mandates the driver’s insurance to cover the amount of all liabilities along with personal injury protection (PIP)  for any accident. Compared to the other states, Kansas has more stringent laws. The drivers are required to carry their insurance proof at all times. The driver must oblige to show the proof of insurance to law enforcement officials if they request it. Kansas has laid down laws for the amount that each incident would require. The insurance of any car will have to cover the necessary amount. Kansas has higher basic requirements for car insurance compared to the other states.

Kansas Auto Insurance Requirements

You will be required to carry the proof of insurance with you at all times. This proof can be in electronic or physical format. You will have to show the proof of insurance to the law officials if they request it. Though higher than most states, the minimum liability coverage is obligatory in Kansas.

Minimum Liability Coverage

Any car insurance is expected to cover the minimum liability of 25/50/25 in Kansas. This would make the insurance have to cover the bodily injury of each individual involved in the accident. In addition to this, the insurance will also have to cover any damage caused to the cars in accidents. These are the amounts that the states mandate in their insurance:

$25,000 for each bodily injury$50,000 for the number of accidents for each bodily injury$25,000 for each individual accident and property damage

Personal Injury Protection for Auto Insurance

The states required each of the insurance to cover the costs of hospitalization and other requirements in case of an injury. The minimum PIP should include:

$4,500 for medical expenses per individual$900 per month for a year for income loss/ disability$25 per day for any in-house services$2,000 for a funeral, cremation, or burial expenses for each individual.$4,500 for rehabilitation expenses of each individual.

Any auto insurance is required to cover the minimum coverage but in case of an increase in the cost of the damaged property, the amount is subsequently increased. Each of the minimum required coverage amounts will be increased. It is better to increase the limits on liabilities if you can.

How much will a Minimum Auto Insurance Cost you in Kansas?

The minimum auto insurance in Kansas will depend on various factors. It will differ depending on your age, ZIP code, the make of the car model, driving history, and your credit score. The prices for auto insurance also differ depending on the car insurance company you choose. Kansas offers exclusive auto insurance policies for its current and former military members and their families. As per reports, the best financially viable option for an average American family will cost around $376.

Do you need Auto Insurance in Kansas While Leasing a Car?

Auto insurance is mandatory for using a leased car in Kansas. Since Kansas is a no-fault state, each driver needs insurance.  You might be using a leased car for varied reasons. But here are some rules you will need to abide by.  You can always contact the leasing company to know the requirements of your auto insurance. The state, however, requires you to cover a minimum liability of 100/30/50 before leasing a car.

Kansas Penalties if Driving Without Insurance Proof

It is mandatory for every driver to have proof of insurance while driving in Kansas. In any case, with failure to have proof of insurance, you can be charged with penalties. The driver will have to maintain an SR-22 filing for twelve months. The driver can be fined between $300 to $1,000 or can face up to six months in jail. The consequences of these penalties in the future will imply that the driver will have to pay higher insurance rates. Kansas is particular about the auto insurance for the cars and the drivers. Given the comprehensive laws for an owned or leased car, the amount for coverage differs. There are certain penalties for not being able to provide proof of insurance to the law enforcement official. Holding the driver accountable for their fault of missing proof of insurance makes it necessary to get insurance. One of the penalties also makes buying car insurance in the future a costly purchase. 


Kansas Car Insurance Requirements   Minimum Coverage for Liabilities   Penalties - 62Kansas Car Insurance Requirements   Minimum Coverage for Liabilities   Penalties - 43Kansas Car Insurance Requirements   Minimum Coverage for Liabilities   Penalties - 63Kansas Car Insurance Requirements   Minimum Coverage for Liabilities   Penalties - 91